A Ghostly Affair


 

I do sometimes!!! Yesterday was one such day. I was suddenly woken up by a loud thud. It took me a couple of seconds to realize it was my water bottle which had fallen down. I took out my mobile to look at the time. it was 00:00 hrs exactly. Just then the friendly dogs of our society starting barking loudly and I saw a bright flash of light.Another couple of seconds and I realized it was my mobile with a stupid Vodafone alert flashing on the screen and the dogs keep barking everday.
I was all alone(my roomie is visting her home town) and didn’t know what to do.As if this was not enough when I got up to switch on the light I felt something on my foot. It was a disgusting cockroach ( Didn’t know I had company in my room). All this was too much of a co-incidence and I started wondering “Do Ghosts exist??”
I guess it is more of a mind game for two reasons.
1. Had my roomie been at home the same sequence of events wouldn’t have scared me so much.
2. Every time I think of something scary I don’t reminded of any character from either the Evil Dead series or one of the Ramsey brother’s but a human. It is Anthony Hopkins from the movie Silence of the Lambs. He is a Psycho killer and a cannibal in the movie. The dialogue ” And I ate his liver with some fave beans and chianti” still scares me whenever I get reminded of that.
Atleast I feel it is all in the mind. The more we think about it the more vulnerable we are. What do you have to say?

Do you believe in Ghosts? I do sometimes!!! Yesterday was one such day. I was suddenly woken up by a loud thud. It took me a couple of seconds to realize it was my water bottle which had fallen down. I took out my mobile to look at the time. it was 00:00 hrs exactly. Just then the friendly dogs of our society starting barking loudly and I saw a bright flash of light.Another couple of seconds and I realized it was my mobile with a stupid Vodafone alert flashing on the screen and the dogs keep barking everday.

 

I was all alone(my roomie is visting her home town) and didn’t know what to do.As if this was not enough when I got up to switch on the light I felt something on my foot. It was a disgusting cockroach ( Didn’t know I had company in my room). All this was too much of a co-incidence and I started wondering “Do Ghosts exist??”

I guess it is more of a mind game for two reasons.

1. Had my roomie been at home the same sequence of events wouldn’t have scared me so much.

2. Every time I think of something scary I don’t reminded of some super natural character from either the Evil Dead series or one of the Ramsey brother’s but a human. It is Anthony Hopkins from the movie Silence of the Lambs. He is a Psycho killer and a cannibal in the movie. The dialogue ” And I ate his liver with some fave beans and chianti” still scares me whenever I get reminded of that.

Atleast I feel it is all in the mind. The more we think about it the more vulnerable we are. What do you have to say?

11 thoughts on “A Ghostly Affair

  1. My home is adjacent to an old British graveyard ( we share the same wall) it used to be a play ground for me and I loved reading the inscriptions on the graves… but as I grew, so did my fears- that ghosts do exist of course it was all thanks to my friends who refused to visit my place & my room faces the graveyard and especially in winters it used to give me creeps to be alone at home with the misty weather and flickering candles around Christmas time on the graves- and just to fool the ghosts I used to keep the television on full volume and never switched off the lights- Now I am back to being in love with the wide open space where the dead lay resting! Nope, they won’t disturb me and the good part they protect us from all uninvited guests (thief’s/ burglars). If I could attach some pics here, then would have shared some of my wonderful Pvt space- and it is beautiful to take a walk on sit under the big old banyan tree and read a book…

  2. The TV idea is a good one. I’ll try that next time.

    The hostel that I stayed in when I was doing my engineering was adjacent to a graveyard. We shared the same wall too. But my hostel mates managed to scare away the ghosts so never had a problem 😉

    BTW I envy you for the open space and the Big old Banyan Tree. Wish I had one nearby.

  3. hey next time around you want to take a holiday most welcome to stay at any of houses ( Ambala/del) both have the luxury of space/opnessess and many trees!

  4. Let me add to that-if you meet Ruskin Bond and his gang of frenz, they are full of Ghost stories. I was having dinner with him once when I visited Mussoorie and they almost convienced me that Ruskin did fall in love with a Ghost once :)( his childlike naughty smile gave away)…

    @ Prasad: and it is not even aganist the law to have an extra marital affair with a ghost!:)

  5. @Pallavi: Extra Marital Affair … I am still single,so no such complications :),but would still consider your advice for future 😉

  6. @ Prasad: Hey sorry! thought you are the one from CE forum and also the blogger kida, hence the confusion…

    BTW if you are single then why are you considreing to have an affair with a ghost??? anyway Bon Chance!

  7. I did the mistake of watching SotL all one and the following week my mind conveniently made up things that would scare me to hell 😀
    Ah, imaginations are much scarier than reality!

What say you?

