Mentoring Magic


I am back after a 4 day break a couple of hours back. Had been to Pune to attend a family function and it was simply great. After coming back, I was browsing the newspaper and this ad caught my attention.

ET ideas Mentoring

ET ideas Mentoring

I couldn’t help but admire the creativity in the advertisement. And also couldn’t agree less with the concept. I personally believe every human being has some inherent potential in him/her. It is for the person to discover that potential and work on it. A mentor plays a very important role in this process. One may recognize the talent and start working towards developing it but it is equally important to channelize your efforts in the right direction for making the most of the opportunities that come your way.
Eric Parsloe, from The Oxford School of Coaching & Mentoring, rightly defines it as follows “Mentoring is to support and encourage people to manage their own learning in order that they may maximise their potential, develop their skills, improve their performance and become the person they want to be.”

One right mentor can make all the difference.Mentors rely upon having had similar experiences to gain an empathy with the mentee and an understanding of their issues.And also boost a mentees confidence. Have you found your mentor??
4 thoughts on “Mentoring Magic

  1. Hey Sapna,
    Nice Blog.
    To realise ones potential a mentor plays a very important role. we all have potential to do the impossible things possible if we beleive in ourselves. As the word impossible itself says “I m Possible”. But to make this realise we need a mentor to support us at various stages.
    As the person what he/her is today reflects the mentoring which he had in the early days. As in the initial stages starting from our childhood we all learn what our mentor teaches us without knowing even what is good or bad as employ the same in the further stages of life.
    A MENTOR IS MUST IN EVERYONE’S LIFE.

    Really nice blog. It remembered me about the mentors which i came across at various stages of my life.. Waiting for ur next blog..

  2. ME & My Mentor- blessed to have one and met her when I was set to start my career… Well, the story goes, that I met her by chance and she gave me an opportunity to learn a profession, which today I realize is an art and not everyone’s cup of tea…

    She introduced me to my skills and shaped my ideas and personality too! Earlier, everyone said Pallavi, can do nothing but talk… But now it is a different story, everyone says Pallavi is what she is because she can think… and talk!

    I tell everyone the newer & better me is born out of the dedication of my MENTOR and now she is nurturing the mentor –in-me!

What say you?

