Genie outside the bottle

As a child I had always imagined computer to be a magic box. A mean machine that would answer all the questions that you throw at it. It was only as I grew up I understood it is the GIGO(Garbage In Garbage Out) principle at work. I was disappointed to some extent but nevertheless understood that is how things work and computer is not a panacea.

With the arrival of “The Internet” that came to India in 1995 things looked different. And then came a invention called Google which has been the top dog among search engines for almost a decade. It was a path breaker and somewhat resembled my imagination of a computer. You type in any question and it would link you to the pages that answers your question within fraction of a second.

Some days back(May 15 to be prcise) I tried Wolfram Alpha and voila! this is what I imagined my computer to be. This one computes the answer instead of just searching for keywords. It is as if I had found a genie out of the bottle. Though it cannot answer all the questions whichever it does, does it well. While I am still amazed how it was made possible, I am thoroughly convinced “knowledge engines” are the next big thing on the Internet. But it is going to take a while for people to Wolfram an answer rather than Google it out. Google has come up with one such engine called Google Squared

But there is one thing I still miss whenever I am out to search an image. An Image search engine. Currently(as per my knowledge) we have only text search. We can get image results but we cannot upload a image and say “Search an image that looks something like this”. Now that is being “extra greedy” I guess but that is how Human Mind works ( Yeh Dil Mange More). What say?

PS:The celebrated Stanford professor, Rajeev Motwani, known worldwide for mentoring and advising founders of the companies like Google and PayPal, has died in a freak drowning incident. He co-authored the paper on pagerank with Larry Page and Sergey Brin(Founders of Google) and Terry Winograd. Let his soul rest in peace.

One thought on “Genie outside the bottle

  1. Pingback: Google Goggles « Sapna's Blog

What say you?

