Mosaravalakki/Curd Poha – Recipe


I was done with my morning dose of the Internet and was getting up to prepare breakfast when I saw this comment by GVji on my earlier poha recipe. That reminded me I haven’t been trying out the different poha recipes for a while and started on this. A great breakfast option for the summer.

Ingredients:

ingredients

ingredients

  • Poha/Beaten rice/Avalakki/ಅವಲಕ್ಕಿ – 2 cups (take the medium or thick variety)
  • Beaten Curd – 2 cups
  • Ginger – finely chopped – 1/4 tsp
  • Jeera – for tempering
  • Green chilli – 1 large
  • Salt – to taste
  • Mustard seeds – for tempering
  • Asafoetida/Hing – for tempering
  • Coriander leaves/Cilantro – finely chopped
  • Onion – finely chopped
  • Curry leaves – finely chopped
  • Sugar – 1/4 tsp
  • Oil – for tempering
  • Ground nuts – roasted and peeled

Method:

  • Beat the curd, add salt,sugar and keep it aside.
  • Soak the poha and drain it immediately. Using a sieve works out best for this.
  • Temper with oil, mustard seeds, jeera, hing, curry leaves, green chilli, ginger.
  • Add the poha, tempering mixture and curd. To this add onions, groundnut and coriander and serve.
Ingredients

Ingredients

mosaravalakki / curd poha

mosaravalakki / curd poha

Note: Mix the poha and curd only when you are ready to serve else it absorbs all the curd and becomes dry.

8 thoughts on “Mosaravalakki/Curd Poha – Recipe

  1. Reading your blog can be frustrating at times!
    Imagine the plight of a foodie like me, ogling all those nice pictures of delicious preparations and not being to taste them right away!

    How I wish, food could be sent as email attachments!
    Regards
    GV

    • hehe… That was a nice comment. Like those wacky one liners with unexpected second line. I could only see the first line in the phone notifications. All this while, I was waaiitting to come home and read the rest of the comment.

      I am not great at presentation of the food. When I am at my hometown, fortunately for me, my Mom and brother take pictures patiently. Good to know they tempt you.

      That is such a great idea – food as email attachments! 😀

What say you?

