Tuppahirekai/Ghosale/Gilki/Sponge Gourd bhajji


Dhamargava/Tuppahirekai/ತುಪ್ಪಹೀರೇಕಾಯಿ/Sponge Gourd or what is referred to as tirprikai in colloquial Kannada is a vegetable that belongs to ridge gourd family. Looks like a ridge gourd but it is without ridges. Since it is slightly unheard of for most people I spoke to, I am giving the names in different languages from web. Plus the pic is there to see and recognize 🙂

Marathi – Ghosale
Kannada – Tuppahirekai
Hindi – Ghiatorui/Gilki

Tuppahirekayi

Tuppahirekayi

The subzi can be made very similar to a Turai subzi but the interesting twist here is this is used to make a bhajji/pakoda. Monsoons are just beginning and what better way to enjoy a rainy evening. So here goes the recipe

Ingredients:

  • Besan/chickpea flour – 1/2 cup
  • Sponge-gourd – 1 medium(peeled and cut into round slices)
  • Hing – a pinch
  • Soda – If you wish to. I don’t add any
  • Ajwain – as per taste
  • Jeera/cumin – as per taste
  • Salt – as per taste
  • Red Chilli powder – as per taste
  • White sesame seeds – as per taste
  • Turmeric – a pinch
  • Coriander – finely chopped – again as per taste
  • Oil for frying and a tsp in the mix/batter
  • Water for preparing the mix

Method:

  • Peel, wash, dry and cut the sponge-gourd into round slices. Keep aside.
  • Add all the other above dry ingredients and mix.
  • Add a tsp of oil to the mixture.
  • Now gradually add water to the mixture to prepare the batter. Caution: Do not make the batter thin. Since sponge-gourd is high in water content if not coated properly oil splutters.
  • Heat oil for frying.
  • Now take a slice of the veggie, coat it with batter and deep fry to get nice bhajiyas 🙂
Tiprikai bhajji

Tiprikai bhajji

  • Eat it with any chutney/sauce you like.

I didn’t know how this is going to turn out but the moment I tasted the pakoras I knew I was on the money 🙂

9 thoughts on “Tuppahirekai/Ghosale/Gilki/Sponge Gourd bhajji

    • I’ll tell you what, it tastes better than it looks. Crunchy chickpea coating over soft, juicy sponge-gourd.

      I was very tired yesterday when I went back from work so didn’t bother to take more pictures or do any garnishing. Plus I clicked them with my mobile camera. So my pics may not be doing justice to the dish!

  1. Hello!
    I saw Your blog and I thought it had great recipes and awesome pictures! I therefore would like to invite You to our new culinary website which has just started.
    This is how it works in short. TastyQuery.com is a website for food bloggers and their fans allowing them to automatically collect recipes from Your food blog. It’s a large database of links to recipes on food blogs. Everyone can join us for free.
    For more please visit:
    http://tastyquery.com
    TastyQuery.com is an English version of our main website called “Mikser Kulinarny”, founded in Poland. “Mikser Kulinarny” has a large audience (over 2 mln unique visitors monthly) and with TastyQuery.com we want to repeat that success and drive thousands of new visitors to your food blog.
    In case of any questions, don’t hesitate to contact us.
    Best regards!

What say you?