Avalakki/ Poha – recipe


Avalakki

Avalakki

ವಗ್ಗರಣೆ ಅವಲಕ್ಕಿ/Avalakki/Poha/beaten rice/flaked rice is a very popular breakfast in North-Karnataka and my all time favorite. I can eat poha all most everyday. It is light, healthy, quick and tasty.

Beaten rice is available in three types here. Thin,Medium and Thick. For this recipe, you will need the medium variety. In case you don’t find it then you can use the thick variety only you will have to wash the poha a little longer. This particular recipe is also called kanda poha(kanda=onions). You can also prepare it with potato which is called aloo poha. You can add fresh seasonal ingredients like green peas, fresh green chickpeas. You can also add tomatoes but we prefer it without them. What I have given is the way it is usually prepared at my home.

Ingredients:

Poha/ Beaten rice/ medium variety – 400 grams/ about 3 cups
Mustard seeds – 1 tsp
Asafoetida/hing – a pinch
Onions(chopped) – 2 small
Curry leaves – a few
Green chillies(chopped) – 2 medium
Peanuts(dry roasted) – 1 tbsp ( non roasted is ok too)
Turmeric powder – 1/2 tsp
Oil – 5 tbsp
Sugar – 1 tsp
Salt – to taste
Lime juice – 1 1/2 tsp
Fresh Coriander leaves/Cilantro – 2 tbsp

Chopped fresh ingredients

Chopped fresh ingredients

Method:

  • Wash the poha in a colander. Make sure it is soft and not mushy. Which is why we don’t take the thin variety for this.
Washed Poha in colander

Washed Poha in colander

  • To this add sugar, salt and lime juice and mix lightly.  Keep it aside.
  • Heat oil in a pan and add mustard seeds.
  • Once the mustard seeds splutter, add hing, curry leaves and sauté. If the peanuts are not roasted add them now.
  • Add the onions and sauté for a minute.
  • Now add green chillies and roasted peanuts, turmeric powder and sauté till the onions are done.
Poha vaggarane

Poha vaggarane

  • Add the poha that was kept aside and mix well. Garnish it with fresh coriander and serve it hot. You can also have it some sev or potato chips or South Indian style with some green coconut chutney.
Poha/ Avalakki

Poha/ Avalakki

Happy Friday! 🙂

16 thoughts on “Avalakki/ Poha – recipe

  1. I love poha! Learnt it from a Maharashtrian friend…. I make it mostly the same way you have described with whatever veggies I can find minus tomatoes…….its a complete meal, healthy and light as you have mentioned. Not too many Chennaites like it 😦 Sad story !!

    • 😦 Sad. Maybe the taste buds are accustomed to a particular type of food and it takes a while to appreciate a different taste. I remember, it took me a while to appreciate Pongal for breakfast.

      Have you tried poha with South-Indian style coconut chutney? Make it a little thinner than usual, add some ice and put it on poha. It tastes heavenly. I used to opt for morning shift(7:30 am!) just to eat this kind of Poha from the Anna near our office 😀 Then there was one near my house who offered it with sautéed green chilli and lemon which was equally amazing.

  2. Poha is my favorite too! whenever I have to eat something in breakfast, my taste buds always crave for poha! I use boiled potatoes instead of peanuts and it tastes nice too. Poha with peanuts also tastes good. Nice job 🙂

  3. Pingback: Atukula Pulihora (Beaten Rice with Lemon) « ãhãram

  4. On my lucky days, I get Poha made like this by my wife.

    On some days, it’s a quick, instant poha made with just avalakki, powdered pepper and jeera. While nowhere near your recipe in taste and satisfaction, it passes muster, when you are in a hurry.

    Regards
    GV

    • Thanks for dropping by GVji. Glad to see your comment here. 🙂

      One thing I missed when I was in B’lore is Poha. Somehow it is very difficult in B’lore to get the right kind of poha to prepare this. the poha there is either too thin or too thick for this recipe.

      Anyway your comment has given me the idea of trying a different poha today. Was just getting up to go prepare poha when I saw your comment 🙂

  5. Pingback: Mosaravalakki/Curd Poha – Recipe | Sapna's Blog

  6. Really….outstanding wordpress blog and content here.
    The actual material here really are useful!!!! Any existing RSS feed on this website??!
    I’ve truly been researching for constantly new content with regards to easy cooking recipes
    videos.

What say you?